Back from Locarno/Switzerland

14051834_10153822705112688_5434941402416404245_nWell I arrived back on Monday from Zurich and have caught up in work. I had a great time in Switzerland and at the Film Festival. I was also able to relax and enjoy myself.

The first part of my holiday was in Milan. I was only there a couple of days but to be honest I was underwhelmed. The Duomo and Sforza castle were impressive but the rest of the city and especially the San Siro did not live up to the expectations I had. Navigli was a really good area full of bars and restaurants. I only had 1 pizza in Milan (honest) but it was quite good…

For the next part of my journey and for the film festival I was staying in Lugano in southern Switzerland. It is a 14054215_10153822708907688_2827719544685494036_nbeautiful place and I will be going back there again. I managed to visit a few places locally and really enjoyed the food. The weather was also very good (hot!) and the food was good, although very expensive. As I had a travel pass, I used the rail network a lot to see as much of Switzerland as I could in my time there. I did day trips to Interlaken (and Grindelwald) to see the mountains and Bern (from Zurich). The Swiss Travel Pass is a great value and I recommend anyone who goes on holiday to Switzerland to consider it.

After the film festival I headed up to Zurich where I spent a few days relaxing exploring the city. Overall Switzerland is an amazing place and I enjoyed every part of the trip there. I just wish I had taken more money as I had to budget a lot due to the costs of food and drink. I already know of a few things I want to do next time I go!

13938175_10153822706227688_795095372382476441_oThe film festival was amazing I managed to see lots go great films and have come back refreshed and full of ideas. Watching films in Locarno’s Grande Piazza is amazing. The atmosphere is really electric. The screen (one of the biggest in the world) fills one end of the Piazza where 8,000 people sit. The sound is also really impressive for being out doors. I can’t wait to go back again and I hope to have a film screen in the Grande Piazza!

The night I arrived at the festival I was able to watch Jason Bourne (2016). Great film by the way and it was packed so the atmosphere was amazing. No Matt Damon, but he did send a video message. While I was there several big names were at the festival (Gemma Arterton, Bill Pullman, Harvey Keitel, Roger Corman and Ken Loach).

 

Now I am back in the UK I have to start work on my film and see what I can do before the end of the year. I have decided that I am not going to rush anything, as I want to focus on quality. I want to make a film and tell a story that I can use for entry into Locarno in 2018 (its seems the most realistic date). In the meantime, work will keep me busy and I have to work towards my ultimate goal of moving to Spain…

 

 

Leave a Reply

